FEMA approves South Carolina's Emergency Declaration

COLUMBIA (WACH) --The Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency or FEMA, is authorized to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures for all counties in South Carolina.

The declaration notes that FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent funding.

Gov. Haley said in a press conference today that she asked the federal government to declare South Carolina a federal disaster area.

Over 200,000 people are without electricity statewide.