COLUMBIA, S.C. (WACH/AP) -- South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley has signed a law requiring more people convicted of driving under the influence to install a device that won't let their vehicles start if the drivers have been drinking.
Haley's spokesman Doug Mayer said the governor approved the bill Monday. She plans to hold a signing ceremony later for Emma's Law.Emmaâ??s Law is named after Emma Longstreet, a six-year-old Lexington girl who was killed by Billy Hutto, a repeat DUI offender on New Yearâ??s Day in 2012. "I heard him tell the judge that day that if he would've had an interlocking device in his car, that he wouldn't have been able to start his car," said Longstreet. Since his daughter's death, David Longstreet has worked tirelessly to have state lawmakers toughen DUI laws in South Carolina. Last week, a unanimous vote by House lawmakers sent Emma's Law back to the Senate.
The law requires anyone with a first conviction for DUI with a blood-alcohol content of 0.15 percent or greater to get an ignition interlock device for six months. The device tests a driver's breath and won't start if it detects a blood-alcohol level of 0.02 percent or greater.
The lock would go in place for two years for a second conviction with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 percent, the state's legal limit.