87 / 69
      88 / 68
      90 / 70

      Primary Day in South Carolina underway

      Polls are now open across South Carolina voters cast their ballots for primaries to select Republican and Democratic candidates for Congress, the Statehouse and local offices.

      CHARLESTON, S.C. (WPDE/AP) -- Polls are now open across South Carolina voters cast their ballots for primaries to select Republican and Democratic candidates for Congress, the Statehouse and local offices.

      But Tuesday's voting comes after the South Carolina Supreme Court removed more than 200 candidates from consideration because of improper paperwork.

      A flurry of legal actions tried to restore those candidates' names, and most of them failed.

      Officials say more than 430,000 registered voters will have no one to vote for after the high court ruled that candidates who failed to file the paperwork properly weren't eligible for the election and wouldn't be counted.

      Nearly 300 polling places in 14 counties won't even open Tuesday because there are no races to decide.

      Polls that are in operation today are open until 7 p.m.

      You can check your voter registration status on the South Carolina Election Commission website.

      You will have to choose if you want to vote Democrat or Republican in the primary. You cannot vote in both. Whichever party you choose, you'll have to vote for the same party if there's a runoff.

      Runoffs are scheduled for June 26th. The general election is November 6th.

      (The Associated Press and CarolinaLive.com contributed to this report.)

      Click here to find out where to vote.

      Click here for an updated list of ballot candidates by county as of June 8.

      Click here for an updated list of certified Republican candidates as of June 11.

      Click here for an updated list of certified Democratic candidates as of June 8.

      Who is running in the South Carolina Primary?

      U.S. House of Representatives:

      U.S. House District 2 - Republican

      Phil BlackJoe Wilson

      U.S. District 3 - Democrat

      Brian Ryan B DoyleCason Gaither

      State Senate:

      State Senate District 18 - Republican

      Rich BolenRonnie CromerAlan HunterKara Gormley Meador

      State Senate District 20 - Democrat

      Norman JacksonRobert Rikard

      State Senate District 35 - Republican

      Tony BarwickEddie DraytonWade Kolb

      State Senate District 35 - Democrat

      Thomas McElveenE B Mac McLeod

      State Senate District 10 - Republican

      Jennings G McAbee SrChet Royston

      State Senate District 26 - Republican

      Duane NaquinDeedee Vaughters

      State House of Representatives:

      State House District 39 - Republican

      Ralph Shealy KennedyJim Wiz Wiszowaty

      State House District 41 - Democrat

      MaryGail DouglasPaul DoveAnnie E McDanielPalmer NicholsonE Sutton

      State House District 75 - Republican

      Jim CorbettKirkman Finlay III

      State House District 77 - Republican

      Joe McEachernChris Sullivan


      Lexington Coroner - Republican

      Frank E Barron IIIHarry O Harman Jr

      Lexington County Treasurer - Republican

      Bill BanningJim Eckstrom

      Lexington Register of Deeds - Republican

      Dan GregoryDebra M Debbie Gunter

      Lexington County Council District 6 - Republican

      Johnny JeffcoatCory Norris

      Richlan County Council District 7 - Democrat

      Gwendolyn Davis KennedyTorrey Rush

      Fairfield Sheriff - Democrat

      Will MontgomeryEddie L Big Ed WhiteHerman W Young

      Fairfield Clerk of Court - Democrat

      Betty Jo BeckhamDorothy Boyd Belton

      Saluda Sheriff - Republican

      Pat GriffithRuss Padgett

      Saluda Sheriff - Democrat

      Jeff HerlongJohn C Perry

      Saluda County District 4 - Republican

      Carey BedenbaughJacob Schumpert

      Lee County Clerk of Court - Democrat

      James I DavisWindi King

      Lee Coroner - Democrat

      J D DellingerLarry J Logan

      Lee County Council District 1 - Democrat

      Mattie Magazine-WestryR Travis Windham

      Sumter Sheriff - Democrat

      Anthony DennisAlexander Dukes SrAaron VaughnBenny L Webb

      Sumter Coroner - Democrat

      Harvin BullockBobby GalianoIsaac JohnsonShawn Ragin

      Sumter Auditor - Democrat

      Thomas H BultmanLauretha A McCants

      Sumter County Council District 1 - Democrat

      Alphonso JohnsonNaomi D Sanders

      Calhoun County Council District 2 - Democrat

      Pamela ClaxtonKen Westbury

      Orangeburg Sheriff - Democrat

      Roger HeatonLeroy Ravenell

      Orangeburg Clerk of Court - Democrat

      Winnifa B ClarkZachariah E Johnson

      Orangeburg County Council District 4 - Democrat

      Joe GarvinHeyward Livingston

      Orangeburg County council District 5 - Democrat

      Janie CooperDelano Del Scott