SC officers honor top group in law enforcement

COLUMBIA (WACH) -- South Carolina's Law Enforcement Association recognized the best of the best Friday.

Every year, officers from around the state get together to honor the top of the group.

Charleston County Deputy Jeff Degrow was selected as officer of the year beating out sixteen other finalists.

Director Jarrod Bruder says three people were recognized as civilians of the year for going above and beyond.

"One of the individuals swam out, got the daughter, another one performed CPR and the other one carried her up," Bruder says. "Unfortunately, she died the next day, but they were able to go through the process and help out."

Incoming SLED Director Mark Keel, Richland County Sheriff Leon Lott and Lexington County Sheriff James Metts were among those attending the luncheon.

Metts was awarded the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award.