UGA legend Dooley to be inducted into Marine Sports Hall of Fame

former Georgia coach Vince Dooley with 1982 Heisman Trophy winner Herschel Walker

ATHENS, Ga. -- Former Georgia football coach and Director of Athletics Vince Dooley will be inducted into the Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame on July 27, 2012, in Quantico, Va.

The United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame honors former Marines who have excelled both on and off the athletic playing field. Established in 2001, Hall of Fame inductees will be enshrined in the National Museum of the United States Marine Corps at the Heritage Center near Quantico, Virginia.

Dooley, a former Marine Captain, served as head football coach at UGA from 1963-88 and as Director of Athletics from 1979-2004. He posted a career record of 201-77-10 with the Bulldogs, becoming the ninth coach in NCAA Division I history to win more than 200 games. He guided Georgia to the 1980 national championship and six SEC Championships, and he took his teams to 20 bowl games.

Dooley coached a Heisman Trophy winner (Herschel Walker in 1982), a Maxwell Award winner (Walker in 1982), an Outland Trophy winner (Bill Stanfill in 1968), 40 First Team All-Americans and 10 Academic All-Americans. Dooley was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1994 and five of his Bulldog players also have been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame - Stanfill in 1998, Walker in 1999, Terry Hoage in 2000, Kevin Butler in 2001 and Jake Scott in 2011.

Under his watch as athletic director, Georgia teams won a combined 20 national championships in nine different sports, including 10 in the final six years of his service. In addition, Georgia won 78 SEC team championships and 97 individual NCAA titles in both men's and women's sports with Dooley as AD. During the 1998-99 academic year, UGA claimed an unprecedented four national titles (women's swimming, gymnastics, men's tennis, men's golf) and finished second in the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Director's Cup, which annually ranks the nation's most successful overall collegiate athletic programs.

Forty-one former Marines have been selected for the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2001. Past inductees include baseball legend Ted Williams, Olympic great Robert B. Mathias, International Boxing Hall of Fame member Ken Norton, and golf legend Lee Trevino. Col. Ralph A. Heywood and Mr. Joseph F. Fulks will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 27.