Wilson, Coates Receive All-SEC Honors

A'ja Wilson added more recognition to her acclaimed resume today as she was named the AP SEC Player of the Year. Wilson, the native of Hopkins, South Carolina, was a unanimous selection for the award. Wilson was also named the SEC Player of the Year by the league's coaches last week. Along with being the AP SEC Player of the Year, Wilson was also selected to the AP All-SEC First Team. Her teammate, Alaina Coates, was named to the AP All-SEC Second Team

Wilson's stats this season rank among the best in the SEC. She ranks fourth in points per game (18.2), 2nd in field goal percentage (63.5%), and 7th in rebounds per game (8.5).

The Gamecocks won their 3rd consecutive SEC tournament championship on Sunday, after they beat Mississippi State 59-49.

AP SEC Honors:

Player of the Year: A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Robin Pingeton, Missouri

Freshman of the Year: Jordan Lewis, Alabama

AP All-SEC First Team:

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Makayla Epps, Kentucky

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

Ronni Williams, Florida

A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

AP All-SEC Second Team:

Alaina Coates, South Carolina

Diamond DeShields, Tennessee

Curtyce Knox, Texas A&M

Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee

Morgan William, Mississippi State

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off