Clowney named to award watch lists

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WACH) - South Carolina defensinve end Jadeveon Clowney has been named to both the Maxwell and Bednarik Award Watch Lists for the 2013 season.

Clowney was a unanimous All-America selection as a sophomore last season. The SEC's Defensive Player of the Year finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy balloting after tallying 54 tackles, including a school record 23.5 tackles for loss and a school record 13 quarterback sacks.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Clowney was a finalist for the Bednarik Award last year, finishing behind Notre Dame linebacker Manti T'eo, and is one of only six defensive players in the country named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 25.