66 / 52
      63 / 49
      63 / 50

      Gamecocks to open spring practice Tuesday afternoon

      The University of South Carolina opens spring football practice Tuesday afternoon. The first workout is scheduled for 3pm at the Bluff Road practice fields.

      COLUMBIA, SC (WACH) - The University of South Carolina opens spring football practice Tuesday afternoon.

      The practice time for the first spring workout has been moved up to 3 pm from the usual 4:15pm start time.

      All 15 of the spring practice sessions are open to the public unless determined otherwise. Most practices will take place at the Bluff Road practice fields. Saturday scrimmages will be held at Williams-Brice Stadium at 10am.

      The Gamecocks are coming off their second straight 11-win season and their best finish in the final top 25 poll of the season.

      Quarterback Connor Shaw had surgery in the offseason to repair a foot injury and was originally expected to miss spring practice. Last week, Steve Spurrier indicated Shaw was make a solid recovery and could get some light work in during the spring session, but nothing substantial.

      Spring practice dates and times are listed below. They are subject to change.

      Practice No. 1: Tuesday, March 5, 3 pm

      Practice No. 2: Thursday, March 7, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 3: Tuesday, March 19, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 4: Thursday, March 21, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 5: Friday, March 22, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 6: Saturday, March 23, 10 am (Scrimmage)

      Practice No. 7: Tuesday, March 26, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 8: Thursday, March 28, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 9: Tuesday, April 2, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 10: Thursday, April 4, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 11: Friday, April 5, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 12: Saturday, April 6, 10 am (Scrimmage)

      Practice No. 13: Tuesday, April 9, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 14: Thursday, April 11, 4:15 pm

      Practice No. 15: Saturday, April 13 (Garnet & Black Spring Game), 1 pm