LIST: Midlands school and government closings

LIST: Midlands school and government closures, delays (MGN Online)

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WACH)-- As a result of winter weather conditions, the following school districts will either be closed or operate on a two-hour delay Wednesday.

To view the complete list of school, government and business closings, click here.

  • Clarendon School District Two will be operating on a half-day with dismissal starting at 11:10 a.m.
  • Students in Richland School District One will dismiss early Wednesday. Elementary schools will dismiss at 11:30 a.m., middle schools will dismiss at 1 p.m. and high schools will dismiss at 12:15 p.m. All after-school activities are also canceled in the district.
  • Richland School District Two will also dismiss early Wednesday. Middle schools will dismiss at 12:30 p.m., elementary schools will dismiss at 1 p.m. and high schools will dismiss at 1:30 p.m. All after-school activities have been canceled as well.
  • Lexington School District Four will dismiss students early Wednesday. The Early Childhood Center will dismiss at 12:15 p.m., Sandhills Primary School at 12:30 p.m., Sandhills Elementary School at 12:30 p.m., Frances Mack Intermediate School at 1:55 p.m., Sandhills Middle School at 1:25 p.m., Freshman Academy at 1:45 p.m. and Swansea High School at 2:p.m.


  • Schools in Orangeburg Consolidated School District Three (OCSD3), Orangeburg Consolidated School District Four (OCSD4) and Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five (OCSD5) will be closed Wednesday
  • Sumter School District will be closed Wednesday
  • Claflin Univesity will be closed Wednesday and will resume normal operations at 8 a.m. Thursday
  • South Carolina State University will be closed Wednesday.
  • Lee County School District classes have been canceled for Wednesday
  • Kershaw County School District will dismiss early Wednesday. Elementary schools will dismiss at 12:45 p.m. while middle schools and high schools will dismiss at 1 p.m. After-school programs, activities, athletic events, and practices including adult education classes canceled for Wednesday.
  • State Government offices in Beaufort County, Berkley County, Charleston County, Colleton County, Dorchester County, Hampton County, Horry County, Jasper County and Orangeburg County will be closed Wednesday. Clarendon County government offices will close at 12:30 p.m. while Georgetown County offices will close at Noon.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off