Hurst named semifinalist for Mackey Award

Hurst named semifinalist for Mackey Award

COLUMBIA, SC (WACH) – University of South Carolina junior Hayden Hurst is one of eight college football players named as a semifinalist for the 2017 John Mackey Award, the Friends of John Mackey announced Tuesday.

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The award-winner will be announced Dec. 6, 2017 and presented to the most outstanding collegiate tight end on Dec. 7, 2017 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show at 6 p.m. on ESPNU.

NFL Hall of Famer member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to the community and his place in history as the first president of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 745 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

2017 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists (Listed alphabetically):

Mark Andrews (JR, Oklahoma)

Adam Breneman (SR, UMass)

Troy Fumagalli (SR, Wisconsin)

Mike Gesicki (SR, Penn State)

Chris Herndon (SR, Miami)

Hayden Hurst (JR, South Carolina)

Jaylen Samuels (SR, NC State)

Cam Serigne (SR, Wake Forest)

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off