Clemson wins third consecutive ACC Championship

Clemson WR Hunter Renfrow warms up before the ACC Championship.

The Clemson Tigers pull off the "Three-peat" and win the ACC Championship for the third consecutive year beating the Miami Hurricanes 38-3 at Bank of American Stadium in Charlotte. It is the first time in 29 years that the Tigers won the conference title three years in a row.

Clemson started the game strong; Travis Etienne scored the first Tiger touchdown of the game, a 4-yard run with 10:36 to go in the first quarter, putting Clemson ahead of Miami, 7-0.

Clemson kept the momentum going in the first; a few minutes later Kelly Bryant danced around several Miami defenders, running it in for the 11-yard score. Clemson increased their lead (14-0) over the Hurricanes.

The Tigers started the second quarter strong, sticking with the run game. With 12:49 to go in the first half, Adam Choice gave Clemson a three touchdown lead on a 1-yard run into the endzone. The Tigers took the 21-0 lead into the break.

Clemson continued their offensive dominance in the second half. The Tigers added a 46-yard Field Goal by Alex Spence to increase their lead 24-0 with 10:14 to go in the third quarter.

A few minutes later, Tavien Feaster added a rushing touchdown of his own (the 4th Tiger to do so) running 11 yards for the score. Miami started to fold as Clemson lead 31-0.

A Tiger Receiver finally got in on the action when Bryant connected with Deon Cain for the 27-yard touchdown pass; Clemson lead 38-0.

Miami finally got on the board with 3:29 left in the game when Michael Badgley kicked a 22-yard field goal making the score 38-3, Clemson.

Clemson quarterback Kelly Bryant shined throwing for one touchdown and 252 yard; Bryant also ran in a score.

This is also the third consecutive season the Tigers will play in the College Football Playoff; Clemson will learn their fate on Sunday afternoon when the final rankings are released.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off